©Said Mrigua, Safi

The British Council and Fondation OCP aim to bring together the Moroccan and British skills to improve the competitiveness and sustainable development of creative industries in Morocco. The design and ceramics are key areas that can add value to other creative industries and support the development of the local economy more generally.

The British Council and la Fondation OCP are pleased to announce the launch of a new initiative: the Design Explore, a training and development programme specifically designed for craftsmen in ceramics and pottery in Safi to help them develop their skills and creativity in the field of craft art and contemporary art.

Duration

Design Explore took place from April 2016 to January 2017 as an intensive four-week training spread throughout the programme period (4 days per session).

An art exhibition and symposium will be organized in October 2017 to showcase the participants’ new work while experts in design and ceramic from Morocco and the UK will be invited to talk about the current position of Moroccan ceramics and pottery and its potential prospects in today’s international market.

Location

The Design Explore programme takes place in the coastal city of Safi.

The final showcase and symposium will take place in Rabat (venue and date TBC).

Programme Content 

Design Explore aims to boost participants' creativity in design ceramic / pottery / porcelain, and offers them the opportunity to develop their own unique product, with the help of international experts. The training includes practical activities on all aspects of the work of a designer:

  • Design
  • Materials choice
  • Quality and Conservation
  • Costing and pricing of product produced
  • Relations with the markets...etc.

Participants 

This training is aimed at all types of artisans based and working in Safi:

  • Master craftsmen seeking to diversify their work to contemporary design
  • Artisans potters with knowledge passed from generation to generation
  • Members of associations or cooperatives
  • Youth who have completed a degree course in ceramics or in the design sector.

See also

External links

©Said Mrigua, Safi

Le British Council et la Fondation OCP visent à réunir les compétences marocaines et britanniques afin d'améliorer la compétitivité et le développement durable des industries créatives au Maroc. Le design et la céramique constituent des secteurs clés qui donnent une valeur ajoutée à d'autres industries créatives et soutenir le développement de l'économie locale de manière plus générale.

C’est dans ce sens que le British Council et la Fondation OCP ont le plaisir d' annoncer le lancement d’une nouvelle initiative : le Design Explore, un programme de formation et de développement conçu spécialement pour des artisans en céramique et poterie à la ville de Safi afin de les aider à développer leurs compétences et leur créativité dans le domaine de l’artisanat d’art et de la création contemporaine.

Durée

Design Explore s'est déroulé entre le mois d'Avril 2016 et le mois de Janvier 2017, principalement quatre sessions de formation tout au long de la période du projet (4 jours par session).

Une exposition et un symposium seront organisés en octobre 2017 pour présenter les travaux des participants, tandis que des experts en design et en céramique du Maroc et du Royaume-Uni seront invités à discuter de la position actuelle de la céramique et de la poterie marocaines sur le marché internationale d'aujourd'hui et de ses potentielles perspectives.

Lieu

Le programme Design Explore se déroule cette année dans la ville côtière de Safi. 

L’exposition finale et le symposium auront lieu à Rabat (lieu et date à confirmer).

Contenu du programme

Design Explore vise à booster la créativité des participants dans le design en céramique / poterie / porcelaine, et leur offre l’opportunité de développer un produit unique qui leur est propre, avec l’aide d‘experts internationaux.

La formation comportera des activités pratiques sur tous les aspects liés au travail d’un concepteur:

  • Conception
  • Choix des matériaux
  • Qualité et conservation
  • Calcul des coûts et tarification du produit réalisé
  • Relations avec les marchés...etc.

Participants 

La formation s’adresse à tout type d’artisans basé ou travaillant sur Safi :

  • Maître-artisans cherchant à diversifier leur travail vers du design contemporain
  • Artisans potiers avec un savoir-faire transmis de génération en génération
  • Membres d’associations ou de coopératives
  • Jeunes ayant suivi une formation diplômante dans le secteur de la céramique ou dans le design.

Liens externes